“But don’t you step on my blue suede shoes. You can do anything but lay off of my Blue suede shoes.”

by theinnergent

Blue and Suede. Two words that can make a man panic, but I’m here to tell you why these shoes rock and don’t have to cost you an arm and leg to get a nice respectable pair at low cost.

First of all the shoes I will be reviewing I have taken out of the box and warn them in walking around London for a few weeks, being English I had to give a few layers of shoe protector as you should with any given suede shoe.

I picked these up for £90 but prices can vary up to £120 so shop around!

These are the shoes.

Monarch Men’s Navy Suede Chukka Boots

2014-08-16 14.50.41

Featured image

(Yes they need a good clean, walking around London in a freak storm)

Now these shoes first came to my attention when I was walking through the streets and popped my head into a rather friendly shop in Shrewsbury England http://www.pregoshoes.co.uk/  I walked in and it was like Prince Charming seeing Cinderella for the first time, except I left with the two shoes.

I tried them on and instantly fell in love with the feel. great support around the ankle, enough room around the toes.

Great padding , I’m around 15-16 stone so a lot of weight on my feet yet still feel these are comfortable to walk around in for hours a day.

These are leather soled shoes so if you live in a part of the world similar to mine I’d recommend getting rubber soles, not only for the grip but to prolong the life of the shoe.

2014-10-05 20.53.25

Sizing is good, I’m a 12-13 depending on the shoe, these shoes are probably on the larger size so a 12 fits me well without cutting the blood supply off and I can take them off without looking like Jen’s feet from The IT Crowd.

jen's feet IT Crowd

Overall I find the shoe very comfortable, it feels like a solid shoe that you know won’t fall apart in the middle of the day having to get the tube home barefooted  (It’s happened)

10 being good 1 being poor

  • Comfort – 8/10
  • Price  – 7/10 I picked these up for £90
  • Reliability – 9/10

Remember to go down to your cobbler and have them put rubber soles on

2014-10-13 19.07.12

Time to give them a nice clean and as with all Suede shoes a good coating of ScotchGuard.

